Memorial Day: A White Rose for Purity

Memorial Day:  A White Rose for Purity

A white rose signified Purity. Purity in the hearts and souls of those who serve others. Roses are my favorite flower. I have at least thirty rose bushes. My latest acquisition is Oklahoma a beautiful deep crimson. My father was born in Oklahoma and I thought it should live at my house. I think his favorite rose was Taboo. It sat right next to the walkway by the front door. It was so deep a red that it shown black-crimson.

My childhood house was on a corner lot. There were thirty or forty rose bushes. They were glorious in bloom. Children would walk home from school and pick them. One day I told them to just come to the door and I would be happy to cut them some roses instead of them tearing at the bushes and breaking them.

Leave a Reply

