Garden: Tomatoes

I never grew up eating home grown tomatoes. So when my husband said, “These (store-bought) are not tomatoes.” I had no clue what he meant. They looked like tomatoes to me. They were round, they were red they tasted like tomatoes. “No these are not tomatoes, they are pink.”  Well I keep a compost pile and throw clean kitchen waste, potato peels, tomato bits, any uncooked vegetables, and I would have tomatoes and potatoes growing in my compost pile. But dear husband could not leave them alone and was constantly digging the tomatoes up and putting them into pots and putting them in the back yard, but he never took care of them.

One year I broke down and watered one of the pots and tomatoes formed and turned red.   A RED tomato, with a rich taste. Is this a tomato?

I asked about the tomatoes he said he grew with his father. He didn’t grow them, he helped PLANT them. Together they put them in the ground. Well soil in Indiana is rich and dark. It also rained there during the summer.  Soil in Southern California is neither rich nor dark. When we first moved in here we had 65 yards of soil hauled into our backyard. This is high desert, the soil is either clay or depleted of nutrients from the burning sun.

Since we are in a drought in the farmbelt in the Central Valley the chances of produce at a reasonable price or produce at all made me want to plant more vegetables this year. Last year I planted about a dozen tomato plants. This year I got a late start.garden tomato 007but I have three plants a beefsteak, a Roma, and a medium sized early girl tomato plant that is about 3 feet tall. garden Roma 009The Roma is setting fruit well.garden tomato 008the Early girl has a few green globes so far.

It is my little 18″ plants that have already produced 5 tomatoes. Three of the tomatoes were orange so they were proclaimed to not be tomatoes or not be ripe — can’t win!

 

8 thoughts on “Garden: Tomatoes”

  1. I grew up with home grown tomatoes too. Every once in a while my mom would let me pick one off the vine and eat it. Right there. They were warm sweet and juicy. The juice would run down my arm but that didn’t bother me. It was a treat as good as any ice cream.

  2. Stop! Your tomatoes look so wonderful. I didn’t plant any this year and regret it, shame on me. My favorite tomatoe story was eating sandwiches in Singapore. White farm bread, butter, sugar and tomatoes. Yum, yum. Try it, you’ll like it.

    1. I remember you invited me. We did have fun shopping for clothes for the trip. I need to make bread again. I miss everything about it. The kneading, the rise, the smell the taste.

  3. Living in Indiana, I can attest that not only is the fresh, warm, red, ripe homegrown tomato the essence of life, the smell of the plant is quite remarkable and quite delicious itself. That said, an orange tomato is an orange tomato and can be mighty tasty too. Thanks for the post.

  4. It is all so true. BTW fresh baked warm white bread+artichoke hearts+butter is yummmy, but I like the tomato idea too. One day when I was 5 or 6-ish I grabbed mom’s salt shaker and scurried out to the tomatoes growing in our backyard. I broke out in red spots from all the tomato acid I ingested next day and it took my parents a while to figure out what I had done. Obviously I ate quite a few. Oh how I loved those Beefsteak tomatos!!!!!!!

    1. You are describing my favorite summer salad plate. Artichoke hearts, olives, a deviled egg and some toasted bread rounds with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes — what a treat. I can see Mom and Sam trying to figure out what you had been up to — no Dinky did it!

Leave a Reply

