Quilts: Just Ducky

Just Ducky started with the idea of a quick baby quilt. I’ve decided that for me, there is no such thing as quick. I searched through my stash for a printed panel. My mother was a great one for whipping up a baby comforter using a printed panel, and she would do it in a day. I couldn’t find a panel. Just as I was about to give up I found the pale print fabric with ducks. I must have picked it up on a flat fold table. I didn’t even remember it and I have pretty good fabric memory.

quilt Just Ducky 001

All by itself the fabric wasn’t big enough to make a 40″ x 60″ baby quilt, maybe a 36″ quilt. So I decided to cut the blocks apart and put latticing between the squares — not my favorite.  The fabric was so old none of the yellows I had were pale enough for the job. I “forced” myself to make a trip to my LYS, Rosie’s Calico Cup board on El Cajon Blvd, in San Diego, CA, to see what I could find. Their yellow selection was also too intense.

quilt Just Ducky 003

I found myself in the Auntie Grace fabric section and I found a yellow — a print with yellow that was perfect. I like baby quilt to be about baby. I found in my collection a “baby feet” print that would work as backing.

quilt Just Ducky 004

Piecing the top took much longer than I had anticipated. Isn’t that always the case. I did start with three months to spare, so that was good. It took me six weeks to fussy cut and sew it together. Of course I did not sit and sew constantly, it would have gone faster if I had.

Now it is ready for the backing.

Sew happy,

Joanne

One thought on “Quilts: Just Ducky”

Leave a Reply

