A Groove or A Rut?

Years ago I sat at the Old Town Mexican café with Libby Leman talking about making quilts. She said so many times we thing we are really “in the groove” we are making quilts and having a good time. But are we in a groove or are we in a rut? There is a tendency when we are artists to make the same thing over and over, perhaps it’s a Log Cabin quilt. Years pass and we are still making the same quilt, just in a different color. Are we moving forward, or are we standing still?

I’ve found myself sorting and organizing but not doing much else. My motor is running and my wheels are spinning but I am getting no where fast. I tell myself, “Today I am going to . . . .” and I start shuffling fabric from here to there and there is no action behind my movements.  At the end of the day all I have is a bigger pile and nothing accomplished.

I did make a list of all the work I have “in progress” truth is, seeing that on paper was very impressive. I have managed to finish a few of the smaller works, but not the quilts. It’s a rut when you find yourself annoying friends and frustrating yourself. The challenge isn’t there.  You feel that the world is moving past you.  You aren’t excited about getting up in the morning and working in your studio.

Did you start this project with all the best intentions and somewhere it lost its steam?  Was it a bad idea to start to begin with?  Maybe the timing was bad, you didn’t allow enough time to meet the deadline? Are circumstances conspiring against you?  Maybe the rut is caused by being too technical, what you thought was a good idea and now it isn’t.  This can happen in a lot of areas of our lives, not just with our artwork.

Maybe what you liked last year, five years ago, or more is not you today. Your color preferences are different. It’s time to change it up, go on a creative date with yours. Go to a botanical park, an art gallery, even a movie or buy some upbeat music.  Buy a new box of 64 crayons. You may not be as prolific as you were 10 years ago and that is bothering you. Stamina does diminish. Try getting together with younger people,  buy some blank paper and share your crayons. Don’t over analyze, don’t question your inability to get out of the rut. If you are in a rut question everything but the rut.

Best to you,

Joanne

 

Leave a Reply

