Blocked?

There is a difference between being blocked and being in a rut. When I’m blocked I have no momentum, I flat out lack desire am just not interested or motivated.  Is there a way to get beyond this?  To solve this I go and sit at my work table in front of my sewing machine and be here for 15 minutes. I tell myself it will just be for 15 minutes. Since I am  staring at my machine, I think I will wind some bobbins. I can always use bobbins in neutral colors.

So I begin pulling empty bobbins which I buy at least 20 at a time. It starts ecru, tan, light gray and dark gray threads I by on large spools. If I am not making clothes or doing top stitching I use basic colors.  I’ll wind about four of each. It is such a pain to have to stop in the middle of a project to wind bobbins when you run out.  Or if you are machine quilting it is a bigger pain.

threads & bobbins 004

Once the bobbins are wound I am ready for something else. Once you begin, the flow has started. If bobbins aren’t enough to get the juices flowing I like to fold fabric. The colors inspire me to start mixing and matching fabrics.

Come back we’ll talk about fabric tomorrow.

Joanne

 

 

Leave a Reply

