Quilting 101: Fabric found

I’m grateful. The fabric was found in a shoe box at the far end of my shelves — not labeled, of course.

Fabric Auntie Grace 002

So the trip I so wanted to take to the not so local quilt shop to buy more fabric will be postponed until tomorrow. These fabrics are very workable and I’m sure I could finish a quilt with what is here but there is something in the hunting and gathering that makes me salivate.

Also in the box with the fabric were already started blocks and templates for quilt blocks I made years ago in the hope that someday I would have a granddaughter. In need of a Christmas present before her 5th Christmas I remembered these blocks. I didn’t have much time to make the quilt with only a month before the holiday. I had to think quickly and made this quilt:

Abi's Big girl quilt copy 2

Little girls go through the pink and purple phase so combining the blocks with pink and purple bands worked out well since I made only 16 blocks but they were big.

Now back to my Nine-Patches.

2 thoughts on “Quilting 101: Fabric found”

Leave a Reply

